Insights from the Adobe Worldwide Technical Communication Survey 2019/2020

Presented by: Stefan Gentz, Adobe
Wednesday, April 8, 2020 | 9:00 am – 10:30 am PT | 12:00 pm – 1:30 pm ET | 5:00 pm – 6:30 pm BST
This webinar is free.

In this presentation, Stefan Gentz will give insights from the Adobe Technical Communication Worldwide Survey 2019/2020. TechComm professionals from 60 countries participated in the survey. He will discuss the driving factors for enterprises around the world when it comes to technical communication. Why do companies choose to work with structured content, and why do they go for a CCMS? How do they deliver their content today — and how will they provide content tomorrow?

Read more

Following the Trends: 2020

Presented by: Mark Gross, Data Conversion Laboratory, Inc. and Dawn Stevens, Comtech Services, Inc.
Tuesday, May 12, 2020 | 9:00 am – 10:00 am PT | 12:00 pm – 1:00 pm ET | 5:00 pm – 6:00 pm BST
This webinar is free.

In its eight-year of collecting data, the Center for Information-Development Management (CIDM) and Data Conversion Laboratory (DCL) asked managers, information architects, writers, training developers, and more how they are addressing the challenges of meeting customer information needs. During the webinar we walk through the results of the 2020 Trends Survey, a study we have been conducting since 2012.

Read more

Git Happens

Presented by: Frank Miller, Ryffine and Nenad Furtula, Bluestream
Tuesday, June 16, 2020 | 9:00 am – 10:00 am PT | 12:00 pm – 1:00 pm ET | 5:00 pm – 6:00 pm BST
This webinar is free.

GitHub is everywhere, whether it has been used for a DITA proof of concept and never replaced or was already used inhouse by developers and thrust upon the technical authors. GitHub has many uses but there are limitations — this webinar will introduce some work arounds and help you identify when it might be time to consider a fully functioning CCMS (Component Content Management System).

Read more

Docs as Code: Documentation Management Inspired by Software Development

Presented by: Alex Jitianu, Syncro Soft Ltd
Wednesday, September 16, 2020 | 9:00 am – 10:30 am PT | 12:00 pm – 1:30 pm ET | 5:00 pm – 6:30 pm BST
This webinar is free.

We will analyze a working Docs as Code setup that will be freely available on GitHub afterward so attendees will be able to fork it, work with it, gain a deeper understanding and apply these concepts into their own documentation projects. Although any text-based document format works, we will use a mixed DITA and Markdown project in the demo setup.

Read more

Downsides Of Poor DITA Conversions

Presented by: Helen St. Denis, Stilo International
Wednesday, October 21, 2020 | 9:00 am – 10:30 am PT | 12:00 pm – 1:30 pm ET | 5:00 pm – 6:30 pm BST
This webinar is free.

Thinking of automating your entire conversion process to DITA? Wanting to handle conversion work manually, in-house? Before you proceed, think about how the conversion could help you derive the benefits of DITA that you expect. A simplistic approach may allow you to publish something that looks just like what you have now. But a really good quality conversion will help you to leverage content reuse, personalization and multi-channel publishing, as well as making it easier to maintain and update your content. For example, will your conversion generate keys and keyrefs for variables? How about a relationship table, to prevent broken links? Will menu cascades be correctly marked up, for localization purposes?

Read more

Custom Business Rules for DITA Projects

Presented by: Octavian Nadolu, Syncro Soft Ltd
Wednesday, December 9, 2020 | 9:00 am – 10:30 am PT | 12:00 pm – 1:30 pm ET | 5:00 pm – 6:30 pm GMT
This webinar is free.

A step by step guide to getting started with Schematron and Schematron Quick Fixes. Schematron and Schematron QuickFix (SQF) languages can be used to improve efficiency and quality when editing DITA documents. You can define actions that will add complex structure in your documents, or make modifications in multiple places or actions that will convert a structure into another. These changes are made by keeping the document structure valid and conforming to your project specification and will help the content writer add content more easily and without making mistakes.

Read more